Lexus rx 350 review 2013




Lexus rx 350 review 2013

Article Navigation:
  • Photo
  • Lexus RX | Pricing, Ratings & Reviews | Kelley Blue Book
  • Video
  • RELATED PAGES
  • Jul 22, View all 31 consumer vehicle reviews for the Lexus RX on Edmunds, or submit your own review of the RX

    Motor Trend reviews the Lexus RX where consumers can find detailed information on specs, fuel economy, transmission and safety. Find local

    There are 97 reviews for the Lexus RX , click through to see what your fellow consumers are saying.

    Lexus rx 350 review 2013

    Lexus rx 350 review 2013

    The maps themselves, while clear and easy to read, only show in flat view, lacking the perspective view offered by most automakers. Emergency Handling Emergency Handling Several factors go into the rating, including the avoidance maneuver speed and confidence, as well as how the vehicle behaves when pushed to its limit,. In snow or other slippery conditions, the differential lock keeps power running to all four wheels, instead of automatically portioning it to the wheels that seem to have the most grip. Adaptive cruise control is not available, and the cabin tech interface controller needs refinement. I was impressed that it was not afraid to put me on surface streets in a city, as some systems I have tested seemed to prefer freeways even when the traffic became stop-and-go.

    Lexus rx 350 review 2013

    Lexus rx 350 review 2013

    Lexus rx 350 review 2013

    Lexus rx 350 review 2013

    Lexus rx 350 review 2013

    Lexus RX Reviews, Ratings, Prices - Consumer Reports

    The all-wheel-drive system includes a differential lock, and the F Sport trim includes an eight-speed transmission. Adaptive cruise control is not available, and the cabin tech interface controller needs refinement. F Sport trim does little for performance, mostly making the ride less comfortable. While those models have legitimate sport cred, the F-Sport line of cars, exemplified here by the Lexus RX F Sport, comes off as much less convincing.

    Seating for five, flexible cargo space, and an easy driving character have made it a strong seller for Lexus, and a success that other automakers attempt to duplicate. Lexus fits the RX with a useful cabin electronics suite featuring navigation, hands-free phone, and a quality stereo. A few driver assistance features are also available, but Lexus pushes few boundaries, going with tried-and-true rather than setting a benchmark for the gadget-happy set.

    Lexus rx 350 review 2013

    However, Lexus made a significant step forward with its Enform app integration. This system lets drivers access popular apps such as Yelp, Pandora, and Bing local search using the car's interface, including voice command. The most significant changes come in the transmission and suspension.

    The automatic transmission gets eight gears, instead of the six speed in the standard RX, and includes steering-wheel-mounted paddles for the manual shift mode. Although it does not shift with quite the snappiness I would want in a sport transmission, the extra gears are welcome for the sake of efficiency.

    Lexus rx 350 review 2013

    Lexus throws in an eight-speed transmission in F Sport trim, a feature that it should make standard across the line. To earn its F Sport badges, Lexus tightens up the suspension, giving it a more rigid character so the RX corners with better stability.

    In my opinion, this tuning effectively ruins the RX Without F Sport, the RX delivers a comfortable, luxury-oriented ride, suitable to the drivetrain and overall demeanor of the vehicle.

    Lacking an adaptive suspension to provide comfort and sport modes, the RX F Sport bounced and jounced me on rough roads, while the ride over better pavement felt no better than a typical Toyota's. Attempting to get into the spirit of F Sport, I piloted the RX along twisty mountain roads, working the throttle hard and hitting the corners with the intention of hearing some tire squeal.

    Lexus rx 350 review 2013

    With the eight-speed transmission in D, it was loath to kick down to lower gears, making for a big gap between when I wanted power and when it got it. As there was no automatic Sport mode, I went straight to manual, which worked much better. A wide power band let me maintain third gear most of the time, with jumps down to second for the sharper turns. The suspension tuning certainly aided cornering, but if you want to drive fast in an SUV, there are much better cars for this purpose.

    The RX F Sport I reviewed came with an all-wheel-drive system; Lexus also makes the model available in front-wheel drive. This all-wheel-drive system does not vector torque across the rear wheels, which would help cornering. However, Lexus does include a differential lock function, which hints what the RX is better-suited for.

    2011 Lexus RX 350 SUV In Depth Review-Best Mid Sized SUV



    • Подписаться по RSSRSS
    • Поделиться VkontakteVkontakte
    • Поделиться на FacebookFacebook
    • Твитнуть!Twitter

    Leave a Reply

    Return to Top ▲TOP ▲